Laura Dern, Sam Neill & Jeff Goldblum reunite for new sequel

The original cast of Jurassic Park will reunite for Jurassic Park 3 in 2021 under the direction of Colin Trevorrow, who co-wrote and directed Jurassic World, and produced the franchise’s most recent film Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom.

Confirmed at a screening of Trevorrow’s new short film Battle at Big Rock on Tuesday night, which serves as a prelude of sorts to the new sequel, Laura Dern will return as Dr. Ellie Sattler, Jeff Goldblum as Dr. Ian Malcolm and Sam Neill as Alan Grant, while Chris Pratt and Bryce Dallas Howard from the last two films will also star.

Speaking with Collider, Trevorrow said Battle at Big Rock “takes place one year after the events of Fallen Kingdom. It’s about a family on a camping trip to Big Rock National Park, about 20 miles from where the last film ended. There have been a few sightings, but this is the first major confrontation between dinosaurs and humans.”

The sequel will then be the sixth film in the series, which began in 1993 with Jurassic Park, and will continue where Kingdom left off: the dinosaur auction had turned into a bloodbath as the animals were freed from their cages by Sir Benjamin Lockwood’s supposed granddaughter Maisie Lockwood, who turns out to be a clone Lockwood made of his own dead daughter.

This website is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program.